Days 1-2: Texas to Denver

So I’m gone! I finally set off on Day One of my western U.S. adventure with little more than a mind full of ideas and a car full of supplies. I decided to drive from San Antonio to Caprock Canyon State Park (TX panhandle between Lubbock and Amarillo) to stay the first night. The day was full of driving through the hilliest parts of Texas as well as the flattest parts. I really enjoyed the drive because I was able to finally realize that I am indeed “on the road”. I had been waiting for that feeling for a while. By the time I made it to my campsite it was almost midnight and I was beat tired. Sleep and driving were the only two things I was going to accomplish on day one.

Pictures from Day One:

Caprock Canyon State Park (TX)

Caprock Canyon State Park (TX)

Caprock Canyon State Park (TX)

Caprock Canyon State Park (TX)

Day two started with me being able to finally see in light where I had drove into the previous night. Caprock Canyon is a very interesting formation in that is in the middle of the flattest part of Texas. I found out in the morning that Caprock is actually what the rock is called that lays underneath the Texas panhandle. So the red rocks of the canyons I was seeing were actually all throughout the panhandle. Caprock Canyon is just the only place where a lot of the rock has come through. The park was also home to the only bison heard in Texas, but unfortunately I wasn’t able to see any while I was there. The rest of the day consisted of driving through the low plains of Texas and a little Oklahoma into the high plains of Eastern Colorado. In Texas and Oklahoma, corn seemed to be the prevalent crop but when I got to the higher plains of Colorado, I realized sunflowers seemed to be a common crop of choice. These yellow dotted fields stretched for what looked like miles and at points surrounded the road on both sides. Definitely a very cool area of the country that I had never gotten a chance to experience before. The drive into Denver was much like any other drive through a major metro city around 5-6pm, traffic. After getting through all the traffic though I finally made it to where I am staying tonight. Cherry Creek State Park is a 460 acre park in the middle of Denver. I don’t mean outskirts of Denver, I mean the park is surrounded by the city. Earlier I wondered the park looking at the nature of the high plains I’d seen all day while listening to the hustle and bustle of Denver. I don’t think I’ve ever been to a park quite like this one in that aspect. I’m not sure if I enjoy hearing cars in such a naturally beautiful place, but one perk is one that I’m gladly taking full advantage of: Free Wi-Fi. And with that, I’m signing off. I’ll post again when I have something else to share.

-Warren

Pictures from Day Two:

Texas Panhandle

Texas Panhandle

Crossing from Oklahoma into the high plains of Colorado

Crossing from Oklahoma into the high plains of Colorado

Sunflower fields in the high plains area of Eastern Colorado

Sunflower fields in the high plains area of Eastern Colorado

Cherry Creek State Park (CO)

Cherry Creek State Park (CO)

Downtown Denver with some sailboats out on the lake

Downtown Denver with some sailboats on the lake

5 thoughts on “Days 1-2: Texas to Denver

  1. Colorado was my home for a year. I lived in colorado springs. I’ve been a little creeper scoping about your photos for a little while and this one made me miss CO a ton. I live in Texas again.
    Your photos are simply STUNNING. I’ve been thinking about a move to the mountains again, but I need to find work first, of all the places you’ve traveled– which one pops out to you the most?
    I’ve thought about wyoming, utah and montana.

    Like

    • Creep away! That’s why I try to post as many photos as possible, so there’s plenty of material to creep through. Haha all those states are beautiful in their own ways. It all depends on what kind of mountains you’re looking for. Wyoming to me is about massively large and long ranges, while Montana to me is about mountains covered in some of the thickest forests I’ve seen. Colorado and Utah too both have their specific kinds of beauty in their mountains. Just know that while all mountains are mountains, some make you feel much differently than others.

      Like

  2. I’ve been browsing online more than 3 hours nowadays, but I by no means found any attention-grabbing article like yours.
    It is lovely worth enough for me. Personally, if all web owners and bloggers made just right content as you did,
    the net can be a lot more useful than ever before.

    Like

Leave a Reply

